Monastyrskyi island - an oasis on the Dnieper

17.04.2014р.

Monastyrskyi island (Komsomol Island) - an island within the October district of Dnipropetrovsk, near the right bank of the Dnieper, which is separated by the Strait of Bishops.

The event has hranytni rocks in the east turns into a sand bar. According Makarevskoho in his time separately existing Vorontsivskyy island in antiquity was at one with the Komsomolsk.

Among the townspeople common ancient name of the island - monastery.Many believe that this is the official name of the island, such rumors were spread from the middle of the 90s of last century. However, according to official records of the city, after the name of the island of Soviet power did not change anyone, so he had left Komsomolsk.

For the history of the Diocese of Theodosius Katerynoslavs'ka Makarevskoho St. Andrew the Apostle, a disciple of Jesus Christ, and brother of St. Peter, going in Kyiv "by reason burnaho and dangerous voyage, had to stop for a while at a large rocky island, known in antiquity, with beginning of the IX century, the name it Monastyrky then Monastyrschyny, the Island Monastery, near the present LOTS, prayed to the Lord is against ozarenni across the country that the light of Christ, erected there a place for sacrifice and vzviv cross as znam'ya victory and triumph of Christianity over paganism, light over darkness.Since then, this island became a memorable and cherished for all Bogoljub, was the subject of a sacred and reverential obeisance and worship mention Domestic and respected name St. Andrew contacted terrain osvyatylos in memory and in the mouths of people , and passed from age to age, as the name of the patron saint and the patron saint of our country. "However, more reliable evidence Andrei stay in the area no.

Boplan in 1620, describes the island: "Here Romanov and Taranto Horn and higher horse island and Kodak lezhytъ Monastic Island, steep, high, surrounded by cliffs that rise to 25 and 30 feet. Just the north side of it on a log.Because this island and heated in povnovoddya.In about 1000 a long and wide 80,000 steps and filled with ground became serpents and other snakes.In this Myshetskoho island called ostrivom Stone, because of the rocky soil of the earth. "

In 1747 Samara Palanka Colonel Cyril Krasovskii gave the island the property, in the possession of eternal desert Samara Nicholas Monastery. In 1775, for the destruction of camp, all of the current neighborhood Polovitsa with islands and forests dostalysya Prince A. Prozorovsky.

In Manastyrskyi island nahodyly stone hammers, flint knives, shkrobachky, buffers, single bone, the most mammoth teeth.

At the end of the island Manastyrskyi both banks of the Dnieper, especially the right, were planted by force of earth and shards of pottery with different patterns and images without the so-called Neolithic period.